BGforSaleSignopt3A listing of how each State in the United States handles delinquent taxes on real estate and land.

State Deed or Certificate Redemption Period Allowable Interest Rate
Alabama Tax Certificate 3 years 12%
Alaska Tax Deed 1 to 10 years Not applicable
Arizona Tax Certificate 3 years 16%
Arkansas Tax Deed 30 days after sale Not applicable
California Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Colorado Tax Certificate 3 years Fed. discount rate +9%
Connecticut Tax Deed 1 year 18%
Delaware Tax Deed 60 days 15%
Florida Tax Certificate 2 years 5% to 18%
Georgia Tax Deed 1 year 20%
Hawaii Tax Deed 1 year 12%
Iowa Tax Certificate 2 years 20%
Idaho Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Illinois Tax Certificate 3 years 18%
Indiana Tax Certificate 1 year 10% to 15%
Kansas Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Kentucky Tax Certificate 1 year 12%
Louisiana Tax Deed 3 years 12% + 5% penalty
Maine Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Maryland Tax Certificate 6 months 6% to 24%
Massachusetts Tax Deed 6 months 16%
Michigan Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Minnesota Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Mississippi Tax Certificate 2 years 18%
Missouri Tax Deed 1 years 8%
Montana Tax Certificate 3 years 10% + 2% penalty
Nebraska Tax Certificate 3 years 14%
Nevada Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New Hampshire Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New Jersey Tax Certificate 2 years 18% + 2% to 6% penalty
New Mexico Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New York Tax Deed* Not applicable Not applicable
North Carolina Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
North Dakota Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Ohio Varies with County

Oklahoma Tax Certificate 2 years 8%
Oregon Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Pennsylvania Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Rhode Island Tax Deed 1 year 10% penalty + 1% per month
South Carolina Tax Certificate 1 year 3% to 12%
South Dakota Tax Certificate 3 yrs. City 4 yrs. rural 10%
Tennessee Tax Deed 1 year 10%
Texas Tax Deed 6 months to 2 years 25% penalty
Utah Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Vermont Tax Certificate 1 year 12%
Virginia Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Washington Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
West Virginia Tax Certificate 18 months 12%
Wisconsin Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Wyoming Tax Certificate 4 years 15% + 3% penalty