Tax Deed & Tax Forfeiture – By State

BGforSaleSignopt3A listing of how each State in the United States handles delinquent taxes on real estate and land.

State Deed or Certificate Redemption Period Allowable Interest Rate
Alabama Tax Certificate 3 years 12%
Alaska Tax Deed 1 to 10 years Not applicable
Arizona Tax Certificate 3 years 16%
Arkansas Tax Deed 30 days after sale Not applicable
California Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Colorado Tax Certificate 3 years Fed. discount rate +9%
Connecticut Tax Deed 1 year 18%
Delaware Tax Deed 60 days 15%
Florida Tax Certificate 2 years 5% to 18%
Georgia Tax Deed 1 year 20%
Hawaii Tax Deed 1 year 12%
Iowa Tax Certificate 2 years 20%
Idaho Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Illinois Tax Certificate 3 years 18%
Indiana Tax Certificate 1 year 10% to 15%
Kansas Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Kentucky Tax Certificate 1 year 12%
Louisiana Tax Deed 3 years 12% + 5% penalty
Maine Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Maryland Tax Certificate 6 months 6% to 24%
Massachusetts Tax Deed 6 months 16%
Michigan Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Minnesota Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Mississippi Tax Certificate 2 years 18%
Missouri Tax Deed 1 years 8%
Montana Tax Certificate 3 years 10% + 2% penalty
Nebraska Tax Certificate 3 years 14%
Nevada Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New Hampshire Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New Jersey Tax Certificate 2 years 18% + 2% to 6% penalty
New Mexico Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
New York Tax Deed* Not applicable Not applicable
North Carolina Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
North Dakota Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Ohio Varies with County

Oklahoma Tax Certificate 2 years 8%
Oregon Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Pennsylvania Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Rhode Island Tax Deed 1 year 10% penalty + 1% per month
South Carolina Tax Certificate 1 year 3% to 12%
South Dakota Tax Certificate 3 yrs. City 4 yrs. rural 10%
Tennessee Tax Deed 1 year 10%
Texas Tax Deed 6 months to 2 years 25% penalty
Utah Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Vermont Tax Certificate 1 year 12%
Virginia Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Washington Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
West Virginia Tax Certificate 18 months 12%
Wisconsin Tax Deed Not applicable Not applicable
Wyoming Tax Certificate 4 years 15% + 3% penalty

Bonjour! Be Awesome, Leave a Note